poetry month is coming…

Standard

slice button this marchWhen I think of April I always think of poems.  I love the special month celebrations.  We can celebrate!!! Our state testing schedule is over.  Though I am a firm believer in integrating poetry all year-long, I love that April gives a special national nod towards poetry.

This will be the last monthly celebration of my career as a teacher.  I hope I can engage our whole school in Poem in Your Pocket Day.  Maybe I can get help a whole grade level celebrate with a poetry coffee-house.  I’ve always thought there is value in memorizing….it builds fluency and confidence.  Ken Burns of the digital Ken Burns Effect, evidently thinks so too.  This month he is celebrating the Gettysburg Address with a school for ‘gifted learning disabled students’.  Every year at this school the students memorize part of the address.  You can read about it here.  It is his latest digital project…it will be broadcast this April on PBS.

Scholastic and Read Write Think also have a myriad of  poetry resources at every grade level.  If you haven’t ever read the poetry of Amy Ludwig VanDerwater   you are missing out.  She is generous about sharing her poems on her blog and her first poem book has won several awards.  I am a big fan.

The ‘slice’ is coming to a close, however, we have poetry month to look forward to.

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

3 responses »

  1. The poetry coffee-house idea is wonderful. I wish I had you as a resource in my classroom because I would certainly let you help me. We did Poem in my Pocket day last year and my kids responded really well. I’m planning to do it again this year. I will miss the Slice of Life challenge, but am looking forward to April.

Leave a Reply

