safe until I’m not

Standard

i never think,

i mostly always trust,

i think i’m always safe,

until i’m not…

today i walk,

i walk on a fresh

spring

overcast

day…

turning a corner i walk up hill,

using my arms,

pumping hard,

my head looks down,

i look up

aware

of

another,

alone i feel,

i smile,

tentative,

i nod…wary

he moves

approaching quickly,

i scan the street,

no one

else,

i look forward,

running still

up hill,

i don’t look back,

just forward,

panting,

relieved

because

he

gave up,

I didn’t.

slice button this march

About ...never ending story

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

8 responses »

  1. Scary. I’m glad you ended up OK, but be sure you always have your cell phone and tell someone where you are going and when you’ll be back. I live alone and do volunteer work for a dog rescue organization. I used to blithely go off and do home visits for prospective adopters. At some point, I can’t remember when, someone told me I should always let someone know when I was going and that I’d returned. Just in case. It had never occurred to me. So , now I do and I’m passing that advice on to you. The rescue now also pays for a cell phone for volunteers so no one can trace us by our phones.

  2. This writing is superb. It was suspenseful and intriguing. I’m glad you made it home safely. I take safety for granted too often when I go out for a run or a walk. My father-in-law always tells me that I should carry some sort of weapon with me (and even bought me pepper spray for Christmas!), but I always feel like everything will be fine. Your poem is a good reminder that it’s important to be cautious!

  3. Love the poem…I could feel the anxiety as it built up. What a scary moment…makes me think of all the times I am out in the neighborhood walking with Aubrey and the dog…always aware of my surroundings…glad you are ok:)

  4. Thought provoking…”I think I am always safe, until I’m not.” Human nature? For instance we humans have a tendency to take people/ things for granted, until they are no longer. Love the imagery……

  5. I’m never scared, until I was. This past winter we started having break-ins in our neighborhood. I was so upset, really have never been alarmed before, who would need my stuff? But I made some changes so I was safer, & it was a good wake-up, Nancy. I don’t know if you were unsafe, but you felt it, & trusting intuition is so important. Your poem gave me goosebumps, & I’m so glad you’re okay.

Leave a Reply

