what not to say, what to say

Standard

What not so say when someone is retiring from teaching in 30 days…

“I can tell by your face that you are ready to retire, today!”

“Exactly how old are you?”

“You’re my mom’s your age…she needs to retire just like you do.”

“My mom says she doesn’t trust the Illinois pension plan.  Will you be able to make it?”

“I just bet you can’t wait to get outta this place!”

“Did the principal make you retire?” (this from one of my little ones, just today)

 

The only right thing to say…

We will miss you and love you and wonder how we will do it without you!

Thank goodness, I’ve heard the latter much more often than the former, this year.  I guess my best piece of advice to anyone going out in the next few years is this:    don’t put on your cheater glasses in the morning, to look at yourself in the mirror, love, love your students like you always have, keep on writing…keep on reading…keep on smiling!

PS After the ‘slice’ March challenge my new job kicked in at church and my spring class at Judson just started (9 wonderful women).  I’ve been doing lots of writing and building a team of people to work with.  God is good.  It is hard right now to get it all done, but with his help, I know that I can.

About Judson RISE professor

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

10 responses »

  1. Glad to see your post today! I’ve missed you. Actually, I haven’t sliced the last couple of months, I’ve been doing April Poetry month with Mary Lee Hahn and I can’t manage both. I think you are very brave to move on to new challenges- I can’t think about retiring yet, just can’t figure out what I would do with my days!

  2. I really hate hearing the “How old are you anyway?” question. Just because someone asks the question, it does not mean that the question should be answered with a number. The lack of “filters” for spoken comments is concerning – I wonder if it is due to lack of practice thinking about the response of the listener??

  3. Starting down a new path is exciting and a bit scary. Sounds like you have already taken the first steps and are well on the road. Hope you have an enjoyable 30 days and an exciting and rewarding new journey.

  4. The first several comments you listed are good reminders to not say anything if we can’t think of what to say! Sorry you had to hear those! I’m sure everyone around you is thinking the “right thing” even more often than they say it out loud. I hope the last 30 days of this chapter of your life are absolutely wonderful.Glad to hear your new job, though busy, is going well!

  5. You will be missed at school and you will miss them, but you are filling your life with new meaningful work. I’ve been wondering what you’ve been doing, now I know. 🙂 Just know someone misses you when you don’t write.

  6. I agree with Dana. I do think people mean well but just aren’t very good at expressing themselves. They also put their own emotions and feelings into their comments which clearly may not be shared by you. It sounds like though you are busy, all is going well. Good for you! 🙂

  7. I found it interesting that my colleagues are the ones counting down, not me. You are on to wonderful new adventures. I miss you when you’re not here, but I understand when life gets crazy. Are you teaching AND doing the church job?

Leave a Reply

