little red

Standard

you know the friends,

the friends we wake up in the middle of the night about,

the friends I bite my nails because of,

the friends that need the most hugs,

the friends that moved away in kinder and you just knew they would be back in time for third,

with little brothers, cousins and sisters

the look

of giant melty eyes that say,

“Love me, teach me, listen to me”,

I stare at the ‘red data‘,

knowing there is much more than just this pin point on a graph,

there is a soul that drips red,

moved, tossed about and out,

into my room,

into my heart,

I love red…

I will secretly read to you, so you will learn about love.

We will laugh and delight in song and verse.

The words will become lovely to you my little rosy friend

,

I promise patience and because of that

you

will bloom with our books,

and someday,

you may grow and remember

how it felt to be red… and loved… and then you will

change

another

and another

and many lives

by giving the blessing of a book and

red has become

fragrant

tender, and soft

128px-Beautiful_Red_Rose

love to write, love to think, love to SLICE... please join our community

love to write, love to think, love to SLICE… please join our community

About Nanc

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

10 responses »

  1. I had to reread this several times in order to comprehend the depth of your message. Finally I read it aloud, echoing into my ear and tears came to my eyes. May you continue to bless those little friends that are so tossed about and start them on an incredible journey through life with confidence.

  2. My dearest Nanc,

    You really do love your students. Each child sitting in a chair is loved and cared for. They are not just a dot on a graph.
    I wish you the best, and when I go for my walk today, I will think of you whenever I see a red rose.
    All the best,
    xo
    love Pooh

  3. Beautiful! I will never be able to look at the red data boxes without thinking about your poem! May I share your poem with others at school??

    • Thank you Jaana…of course you can share my poem. I spent most of my weekend pouring over graphs and wondering how we can get our little ones out of this mess that graph is speaking. I just gave up and started thinking about the ones that we have brought and moved into the reading world the last few years. I felt hope again. xo

Leave a comment