random chance?

Standard

 

Sammie

Right now I’m staring at this blue-eyed chunk of sweetness, my grand-daughter Sammie.  She lives in Costa Rica with her mommy and daddy who are career missionaries…they left after Christmas with ‘our baby’, our unexpected treasure. Random chance that she is here? I don’t think so.  Random chance that her parents met each other on the last raft trip of the summer in Wyoming two short years ago?   I don’t think so. Random chance that our daughter was invited to go with her best friend on this random vacation? I don’t think so.  Random chance that her new best friend had taught with me and then got a pink slip and landed in my daughter’s building? I don’t think so.   Random chance that Em, felt dissatisfied and knew that she wouldn’t be teaching in her beloved  school forever? I don’t think so.  Random chance that she had even become a teacher after viewing herself as ‘Katie Couric’ since she was nine? I don’t think so.  Random chance that she was the most spirited one year old alive and that twenty-seven years later she would give birth to a giggle monster with strawberry blonde hair and a temperament that just sings?  I don’t think so.  God’s humor, God’s love, God’s missionary baby…It can’t be random…it couldn’t be planned any more perfectly than this.   …snip, snap, snout this tale is told out.

About Nanc

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

3 responses »

  1. Your granddaughter is darling, & I love the way you told your story. Random chance, I don’t think so! I imagine we’ll be connecting as I have two granddaughters & a grandson. Lucky to be grandmothers!

Leave a comment