savor

Standard

love to write, love to think, love to SLICE... please join our community

love to write, love to think, love to SLICE… please join our community

I have not shepherded my ‘own’ classroom of children for about fifteen years now. I made the decision to leave my middle school team and work with teachers and students who were in their own little community of learners, but not mine. On some days, I am filled with envy whenever, I see a teacher with their flock hovering close, saying goodbye to their classroom teachers, on a Friday afternoon.

After school, I supervise a group of students who are waiting for their day care busses. Not one of these students are in any of my small groups. Many of them have a great deal of difficulty even understanding that I am a teacher in our building. Sometimes I feel lonely as I wait with them. Slowly, I am trying to build relationships… one student at a time as I ask them about their school day and see some of their books and treasures. But many days it feels like I am herding cats. They are tired and a wee bit cranky, especially the youngest. And when they are tired and cranky…you guessed it, so am I.

This last week as I turn the corner, I see a mom exiting our building with her children. They are smiling…laughing. It is one of my second graders and I say, “Bye, Charlie, have a great weekend.” His mom stops and looks at me and says,

“Mrs. Hatcher, you are magical.”

I’m speechless for a moment. I breathe in and say, “Thank you so much.”

This last Friday, a moment to savor.

About Nanc

lifelong teacher who is semi-retired (does this sound better?) who loves God, family and laughing... who hates social injustice... who wants to write every day... who needs to exercise every day... who blog hops... who wants to live her everyday life led by her savior, Jesus Christ!

9 responses »

  1. This is such a great moment to savor! I know exactly how you feel. I’ve been out of the classroom for over 5 years now and there are many many moments when I miss it so much. Mostly that connection that you wrote about so eloquently today. Thank you.

  2. Oooh, that is a moment to savor! Isn’t it great when parents recognize the wonderful contribution you’re making to their child’s life? (I know this is the case for all of your students, but unfortunately you probably don’t hear that enough.)

  3. I have a similar situation because I teach a small group of gifted students, so I don’t get to know many others. I actually enjoy doing breakfast duty to have the chance to chat with and get to know other students. Little moments make it all worthwhile.

Leave a comment